duffy_4's profile

Tue, May 25, 2021 1:44 PM

Compromising the System with a cheap handheld.

I read the reports about how to compromise the SS system. I ordered it anyway.

Now that it is installed, I decided to do some testing. First, I am a licensed ham radio operator. Second, I took one of the cheap Chinese walkie talkies I have and programmed it to the SS frequency. The programming took 10 seconds.

Third, to do the test I set the alarm. Next I held down the transmit button and walked around opening doors and windows without stopping the radio from transmitting. I even walked within 15 feet of the motion detector. Nothing. The system did verbally acknowledge the RF interference, but it never did create an alarm. I did receive text messages noting that the base was getting RF interference.

I read the original report about how the person who wrote the report would have to have advanced knowledge of the system and placement of the devices. Frankly that is not true. No matter where you locate the base unit, the handheld while transmitting will completely jam the receiver on the base unit. The sensors can send information to the base station, problem is the receiver is jammed and unable to receive anything from the sensors.

In other words, I could start the radio transmitting. Then break a window or go through a door. Steal something and be out of the house shutting the door or window and be out of there in a few minutes without tripping the alarm. The only thing that will happen is the system will report RF interference.

When that happens will SS monitoring centers see that RF Interference and dispatch police to check the property? Will they check the cameras to see if someone has broken into the house? With the design of the system, I am not sure what else SS can do to make the system more secure. A jammed receiver is a jammed receiver.