N

Thu, Oct 7, 2021 2:51 AM

Transfer of ownership - device info?

I will shortly be transferring ownership of our simplisafe system to a new owner of the home (transferring in terms of cancelling service and advising them how to resume service under their ownership).

The current system naturally has the base station and keypad, but also a few motion sensors, a temp sensor, cameras, smoke detectors, and entry sensors.

My question is - once they 'turn on' the new service, will their simplisafe dashboard display all of those connected devices and be fully operational, or will they have to re-pair all of the devices as if it's a brand new 'blank' system?

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

10分前

Hi paul709,

Yep. The alarm components, and all their settings, are stored in the Base Station itself. They should even retain their nicknames. So the new owner won't need to do any of that.

You'll just want to change your PINs, unless you're comfortable with letting the new owners know your current ones!

- Johnny M.
SimpliSafe Home Security

6 Messages

10分前

Thank you. So, just to be clear, This means that the
PINs
System
Devices
menu items in the web sidebar will retain their information, but the
Timeline
Monitoring
Integrations
Alerts
menu items will all be 'cleared' of their existing data?

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

10分前

Hi Paul,

That's right. All settings relating to the physical equipment will stay stored in the Base Station. So that means:

  • Entry and Exit timers
  • Base Station volume and light settings
  • All existing Sensors and their settings (and nicknames, if you have a Gen 3)
  • All PINs


All of these will stay onboard, and will be the same when the next user sets it up.

But records such as dispatch addresses, credit card and order info, Timeline events, Smart Alerts contacts, smart home integrations, and anything else related to the service, are stored on your online account, and won't be passed on to a new user.

(edited)

1 Message

@davey_d​ I have the same question. I just cancel my account but how does the new owner tell the system that they should have the right to control it? There must be some safeguards otherwise anyone could just take control of anyone's system.

This reply has been converted into a comment

1 Message

1分前

@davey_d​ I have the same question. I just cancel my account but how does the new owner tell the system that they should have the right to control it? There must be some safeguards otherwise anyone could just take control of anyone's system.

This comment was created from this reply

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

@drsteve202​ if your system is currently registered under an active account - either a Monitoring Plan, or an unmonitored plan with Basic App Control - then that locks your Base Station so that it can't be set up on a different plan.

But yes, after your account is canceled, then your system can be attached to a new plan. And whoever owns that plan can have full control of your system.

The new owner must create a whole new account, so your personal info attached to the service - like order and payment info, addresses, phone numbers, etc. - will not be transferred. But anything stored in the Base Station, like the PINs, sensors names, etc. - will still be there.

Another important thing: The process of activating a new service plan includes typing in the Master PIN stored in the Base Station. So it shouldn't be possible for just any random person to activate the Base Station that you have, unless they somehow guessed your PIN.