K

Thu, Jul 22, 2021 2:17 AM

Customer support is terrible

Why can't I get ahold of a customer support person?  I have called multiple times and been on hold for 20+ minutes each time.  I've never even gotten to talk to a real person!  I hope the monitoring team is more responsive than the customer support team!  I have emailed three times and each time I just get a response that I need to call. This is ridiculous.

Captain

 • 

4.6K Messages

1 y ago

@kzoll2016 Can you post some details on what issue(s) you are having? Possibly a customer here in the forums can assist.

1 Message

1 y ago

TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE OR MAYBE THE TRUTH IS NO CUSTOMER SERVICE. SAME ISSUE AS PREVIOUS COMMENTER. HAVE BEEN ON HOLD FOR 30 MIN TWICE THIS EVEINING- HAVE YET TO SPEAK WITH A PERSON. MAKES ONE WONDER IF THIS SYSTEM IS WORTH HAVING IF THERE IS NO WAY TO RESOLVE PROBLEMS WITH THE EQUIPMENT OR SOFTWARE.

TRIED  TO LOAD THE MOBILE APP TO MY ANDROID PHONE- AM TOLD THIS VERISON IS NOT COMPATIBLE WITH MY PHONE.  IF THIS APP DOES NOT WORK WITH SOME ANDROID PHONES WHY NOT SIMPLY TELL THE CUSTOMER UP FRONT OR BETTER YET SIMPLY HAVE ONE THAT DOES WORK--- COMPARATIVELY SPEAKING WRITING AN APP THAT WORKS WITH ALL ANDROID PHONES IS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE.

SIMPLI SAFE SENT A SURVEY TODAY ASKING HOW OFTEN I RECOMMEND THIS SERVICE TO MY FRIENDS-- USED TO RECOMMEND OFTEN BUT IN THE LAST 2 YEARS NOT SO MUCH- GOING FORWARD-  NEVER AGAIN UNTIL THE SERVICE IMPROVES-- IN FACT THIS KIND OF SERVICE GENERATES NEGATIVE RECOMMENDATIONS-

Captain

 • 

4.6K Messages

1 y ago

@WAKOERNERR what version of Android and phone do you have?

1 y ago

I have had my system for approximately two years now, both my doorbell camera and my indoor camera stopped working, I called in and spoke with customer service on 07/25/21, I don't recall her name but she was great. She mentioned they would send us replacements for the following: SimpliCam Security Camera $99.00, Video Doorbell Pro $169.00, then she said she was going to transfer us to a tech, we waited approximately 45 minutes on hold, and they never connected, was this intentional to avoid sending the replacements?

Should I continue to subscribe to your service and are you shipping the replacements? Or should we go with another security company and service? These items worked with no issues for approximately 1 & 1/2 years, and to buy them online would be almost as expensive as a new setup altogether. As I am typing this, I am still waiting for the tech to pickup, I really feel that this was intentional, to wait us out (the tech) and avoid having to ship us the replacements....

Jon Cox

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

1 y ago

WAKOERNERR,

Very sorry about the hold times. But of course we can try and get you an answer there. As Captain11 mentions, we'd want to know what version of Android you have, and on what phone. I do know that there are versions of the operating system that are not supported, but that's because they're very, very old; at minimum we require Android 7+, and that version came out in 2016.
I'm actually inclined to think that something is going wrong on your phone, with regards to the app store properly recognizing the OS version. You might have some lock by remotely installing via a desktop browser, from this page: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.simplisafe.mobile

jcoxatlas1988,
Sounds like something went wrong with the phone transfer system there and you were never connected to the tech agent. Please don't think it was intentional! We have zero problems with replacing anything. Our top priority is always to make sure that your system is working 100%, no matter what we have to do to get there.
Checking your account, I don't see that replacements have been ordered for you yet. I'll have an agent give you a call to confirm your address details and get the replacements out ASAP!

- Johnny M.
SimpliSafe Home Security

1 y ago

I moved. My system will not activate at my new location. I informed customer service of my new address and they verified it. This is my 3rd night of trying. I did the troubleshooting, nothing works. I've been on hold for close to an hour for the 3rd night. No answer. Just this horrid music. What a waste of time and money. By tomorrow if I have not received the information I need, I will be $30.00 richer in August. I refuse to pay for a security system that doesn't work. Very frustrating!

Community Admin

 • 

2.9K Messages

1 y ago

HI joycemarie4430,

So sorry to hear about the struggle you've had getting your system back online. Updating your location info shouldn't have anything to do with your system being able to connect to Monitoring, since that only comes into play when there's need for emergency dispatch. So you should be all set in that regard.

For the cell connection in your Base Station, that works like a cell phone, where as long as there's available coverage in that area, it should be able to link up on its own. It might take a few minutes after your plug the Base Station back in.

But if, in the process of your move, you also changed your WiFi router, then you'll need to reconnect your equipment. For the main security system, you can go through your Keypad's Menu, under System Settings (the WiFi option should be near the top).

If you have cameras, you'll need to reset each one. SimpliCams can be reset by holding the top button for 16 seconds. The Video Doorbell Pro, you'll need to unmount and press the tiny button on the back. That will reboot the cameras to the blinking white "Setup Mode", so you can go through the SimpliSafe app on your phone to install them like new units.

Should you still need further assistance, let us know what you're seeing and we can help!

- Johnny M.
SimpliSafe Home Security