L

Fri, Feb 9, 2018 11:04 PM

Natural gas sensor

I am trying to see if there is any others interested in a new ssensor. I live in an older peer and beam house with natural gas. I would like a sensor that would integrate into my existing simplisafe system that would alarm in case of a gas leak. In the event of a gas leak, the alarm could wake you at night or notify you in the day. This could save life and property. Anybody else have natural gas and like to see this product?

Advocate

• 

2.2K Messages

5 y ago

It would be great in my motorhome, which uses propane

1 Message

Yes!

708 Messages

4 y ago

I am not an engineer nor did I stay at any hotel last night to make me any smarter.  I am not suggesting a gas alarm isn't a good idea, I am just curious if it would require some significant engineering work to the actual sensor and the existing SS sensors, base station, etc.  Hoping the sensor detects the gas before it gets to an explosive level, but what happens if the gas level in the area of the sensor is "relatively" low, yet the alarm or base station is in an area with high concentration.  I would be afraid the activation of a component could result in an explosion unless all components were designed to work in the "hazardous" environment.  Like I said, not an engineer.  Nor do I play one at work!

1 Message

@general_kaos​ They already have a carbon monoxide sensor integrated into the system...and there are plenty of combined carbon monoxide/Natural Gas/Propane sensors available (Home Depot, Lowes, Amazon etc) for $20-$30.  This would not be a very complicated development effort for SimpliSafe.  

216 Messages

4 y ago

Natural Gas, Propane, and methane (no jokes!) are all gasses that can build up in a home.

Advocate

• 

2.2K Messages

4 y ago